25 April 2017

Emissions norms in India

Emission norms are statutory requirements that set specific limits to the amount of pollutants that can be released into the environment. Norms focus on regulating pollutants released by automobiles and from industries and power plants. The pollutants in general that are regulated are NOx, sulfur oxides, CO or volatile hydrocarbons.

In USA, emission standards are managed by the Environmental Protection Agency ( EPA ).
The state of California has special dispensation to promulgate more stringent vehicle emissions standard.

The European Union has its own set of emissions standards that all new vehicles must meet. The European Union is to introduce Euro 4 effective from January 1, 2008. Euro 5 effective from January 1, 2010 and Euro 6 effective from January 1, 2014.

The first Indian emission regulations were ideal emission limits which became effective in 1989. Indian started adopting European Union norms and fuel regulations for four-wheeled light-duty and for heavy-duty vehicles. 

History of emissions norms in India :

  • 1991 
Ideal CO Limits for Gasoline Vehicles and Free Acceleration Smoke for Diesel Vehicles, Mass Emission for Gasoline Vehicles.

  • 1992 
Mass Emission Norms for Diesel Vehicles.

  • 1996 
Revision of Mass Emission Norms for Gasoline and Diesel Vehicles, mandatory fitment of Catalytic Converter for Cars in Metros on Unleaded Gasoline.

  • 2000
India 2000 ( equivalent to Euro I ) Norms, Modified IDC ( Indian Driving Cycle ), Bharat Stage II Norms for Delhi.

  • 2001 
Bharat Stage II ( equivalent to Euro II ) Norms for All Metros, Emission Norms for CNG and LPG vehicles.

  • 2003
Bharat Stage II ( equivalent to Euro II ) Norms for 11 major cities.

  • 2005 
From 1st April Bharat Stage III ( equivalent to Euro III ) Norms for 11 major cities.

  • 2010 
Bharat Stage III Emission Norms for 4-wheelers for entire country whereas Bharat Stage - IV ( equivalent to Euro IV ) for 11 major cities.